company logo

Help center

Go to Teachery
All collectionsCustomersRevoking Access, Refunds, Deleting Customers, and other Customer Actions

Revoking Access, Refunds, Deleting Customers, and other Customer Actions

Also how to reset passwords, find your course login link, give your customer a billing update page, cancel payment subscriptions, and more!

There are many actions you can take on behalf of your customers.

You can find customers by visiting your Customer Activity page and then searching the customer's name or email address. Click the customer's name after searching for them and you'll land on their Customer Profile.

Here are all our available Customer ACTIONS...

👤 Edit Customer Name, Email, or Password

If you need to update your customer's name, email address, or password, we give you the ability to do that.

info icon
TIP: If you are changing a customer's email or password, we recommend using the Resend Welcome Email button (found in the Actions menu) on the Customer Profile page so they get a new Welcome Email with a new course login link.

📬 Resend Welcome Email

This will resend the initial Welcome Email upon course purchase. You probably already customized this email inside your course editor in the "Course Emails" section of the left sidebar.

warning icon
If your customer has mentioned they are NOT receiving your emails from Teachery, please read this help doc.

🙅‍♂ Revoke Course Access

info icon
Revoking access from a bundle or hub of courses? Please read these instructions, it requires an additional step!

By clicking this option in a customer profile you will be fully removing a their access to your course.

This will NOT refund any existing payments and will NOT cancel any recurring payment subscriptions your customer might have.

This CAN be undone by clicking Grant Access (which appears only after you Revoke Access).

Should the user attempt to access the course, they will hit an error-type page that states their access has been revoked and they will be prompted to reach out to you (the course creator) if they believe it to be an error. The user will no longer be included in the user count that displays beneath your course thumbnail on your Teach page (but will be visible in your .CSV export of users with a Revoked status).

info icon
Revoking access may also be handy if a customer is seeking to repurchase a course for any reason. Repeat purchases are only possible once a customer has first been revoked. Products, however, are possible to repurchase without revoking access.

⛔️ Edit or Remove Course Expiration Date

You can edit/remove a user’s course expiration date directly in the user’s unique Customer Profile page.

error icon
IMPORTANT: Removal of an expiration date cannot be undone. Your only alternative after that is to fully revoke a user’s course access - that is, expired access is not the same as revoked access.

We recommend first downloading a list of customer data as it stands now, in case you ever need to refer back to a user’s original expiration date. You can do this from your Teach page by selecting the CSV link for the relevant course.

💸 Refund Course Payment

You can refund a single payment OR you'll see individual payments for recurring payment purchases. Refunds can be done in full or a partial amount.

You can refund any payments and refunding will NOT result in revoking access to your course.

error icon
IMPORTANT: We recommend refunding payments via your Customer Profiles in Teachery instead of within your Stripe account because it keeps the records up to date in Teachery.

❌ Cancel Subscription

If a customer has purchased your course via a recurring payment page and you want to stop any future payments, use the Cancel Subscription link available in your customer’s profile.

This will NOT refund your customer and will NOT revoke access: Their recurring payments will simply come to an end. To also fully revoke access, please see the relevant section above.

If you're looking for the URL to give your customers so that they can self-cancel their recurring subscription, you can find it in the Course Links page within the course editor (top of the left sidebar menu). This method will immediately revoke their access too.

⏸ Pause Subscription

If a customer needs to have their subscription payment extended out into the future, you can do that using our Pause Subscription button (in the Customer Profile).

You can read more on pausing subscriptions here.

🛑 Delete Your Customer

We do not allow you to delete or edit your customers at this time. Should you need to do so, please contact us.
​

👍 Use the Course Links page for other Customer Actions

Many commonly needed URLs to help your customers can be found in the Course Links page within your course. This handy-dandy page can be found by:

  • Click into any Course or Theme from the main Courses & Themes dashboard

  • Look in the left sidebar for Course Links (click into it!)

  • Boom, you found the Course Links page! 👍👍

Resetting your customer's password

If your customer can't find the password reset page, you'll find the link in Course Links. If they've tried to reset their password and had trouble, it can usually boil down to one thing: Password reset links are only valid for 24 hours. 

You can read our separate help doc on resetting your customer's password.

Giving your customer the course login URL

Hopefully, this one is self-explanatory now that you know where the Course Links page is. Copy the login URL and give it to your customer.

You can read our separate help doc on helping your customer's login.

Helping your customer update their billing information

This one is really easy! Just grab your course's login URL, but change the login to billing on the end of the URL. Here's an example:

  • Login URL: yourawesomecourse.teachery.co/login

  • Billing URL: yourawesomecourse.teachery.co/billing


Hope that helps you address any customer issues you may be having! If you are still having issues, feel free to reach out to us to lend a hand 👋.

Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
😁